The Sacred Heart

Here are two Christmas presents I made for Kate, my girlfriend.

The Virgin Mary, which is watercolor, gold leaf (I almost died inhaling the dust while making this), and damask paper.  I cut out sections of the drawing and attached the damask paper to the back for her robes.  While researching this I found a bunch of variations on the Sacred Heart, one of which had several daggers sticking through it.  I loved this idea, so I played with it and decided to do swords instead.  I also thought it’d be interesting if the heart looked like an actual heart, not just the symbol.  For the background I had wanted to do a stained glass type effect with watercolor, but I ran out of time!

Sacred Heart Mary (Web)

For the record, I’m not religious at all, even though I was raised Catholic.  But I am drawn to religious imagery.  Kate has Faith.

This second gift is an untitled, one page story.  I wrote it from my head and onto paper via my father’s old typewriter.  This is the second draft, the first was too light to read for the first half until I remembered to wind the ribbon back to the beginning.  I haven’t written anything in a long time, so this was a lot of fun.

Story 1 (Web)

7 thoughts on “The Sacred Heart

  1. What beautiful presents! That is a really cool depiction of the Virgin Mary. You’ve combined iconography with modern illustration, and the result is powerful. I also enjoyed the story; it is a really nice mood piece. The line, “He thought bravely, if briefly, of taking up pipe smoking,” is brilliant.

  2. What a beautiful painting of Virgin Mary! You’re girlfriend is a very lucky woman! 🙂

    Just so you know, typically this sort of depiction of the Virgin Mary is called “Our Lady of Sorrows”. Traditionally, there are seven swords (which tend to make for some pretty unbalanced compositions!) to represent the Seven Sorrows of Mary as she suffered alongside her Son Jesus – as all mothers tend to feel everything their children are going through!

    Sorry, that’s just my two cents. I love the painting though!

    Would it be alright if I shared it on my blog? 🙂

    • Thank you so much. And thanks for the information, that’s really interesting and something I never knew. I guess it shows what happens when you only Google image search and don’t do the follow through homework!

      • My pleasure! I love religious art and imagery, though there are so many variations. No one could track of all the madonnas out there.

        In your post, you said that you’re drawn to religious imagery. Can I be very nosy and ask what is it about it that draws you? As a “religious” person myself, it’s not all that of a mystery in my case!

        🙂

  3. Pingback: How Beauty Will Save the World « Getting into Holy Water

Leave a Reply

